The very last minute HEM!!!

 

A few monthes ago I saw this amazing fabric: silk chiffon in a leopard print with a flowers ombré pattern…..

I knew immediatly I wanted to make myself a gig dress -to see Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds in New York- like this and ordered it.

First I didnt have a very defined idea about the pattern, but for sure a circle skirt with a lot of twist and the flower print at the bottom was what I wanted.

For the bodice I wanted to use mainly the blooming part of the fabric.

I eventually find this ” easy” Retro Butterick pattern.

I loved the wide crossed belt and the V decolletee.

The bodice has got a very special construction with NO side seams and a double crossed layering.

 

 

 

The front bodice extends a bit in the back and is tightly joined with fasteners in the back, while the back bodice extends with a very long scarf looking belt crossed at the front and knoted again in the back.

 

That ” easy” pattern revealed to be really tricky , especially the last steps to join the front and back bodice to the skirt. But with the precious help of Audrey, my magic sewing teacher, we could finalize it after a lot of brainstorming!

That very thin silk chiffon also needed a special treat regarding the hem and Audrey kindly took my dress to her sewing room to finish it with her professional overlocker. And it is perfect!

Heming a few hours before landing in New York!

Looking forward to wear it next sunday at the Hammerstein Ballroom!

Hope it will stand the jumping up and down……..

 

 

2 thoughts on “The very last minute HEM!!!

Leave a comment