TARTAN, MY LOVE!

Since my teenager s Punk Years, ( some 25 years ago,….sic!) tartan is a print I ve always had in my wardrobe.

I just LOVE tartan, almost all colours but my very fav remains the classic red.

These last years I bought a few long wool tartan skirts in Vintage shops, but I also decided to sew myself dresses and skirts in this lovely print.

They mainly are winter garments made of heavy crepe or wool fabric, but I was very lucky to find a light cotton with a lovely red tartan print last time I was in Brighton.

I then decided to make myself an airy and very long, half circle skirt dedicated to one of the forthcoming US summer gigs of Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds.

 

I decided to cut the fabric on the bias for a more elegant look and to add a wide waistband.

I also had an amazing E II R ( Elisabeth the Second Regina) button that i found in an antique store in Hastings. As I wanted a large button, I think it would fit perfectly to my skirt.

I will probably sew a nice leopard print top to wear with it, I just love the mix leopard- tartan.

This skirt can be done in less than an afternoon and is a real classic that I made in a lot of different fabrics and prints.

Here is a very nice tutorial for all kind of circle skirts, from the full circle to the quarter circle.

http://byhandlondon.com/blogs/by-hand-london/11628453-circle-skirt-maths-explained

A last very funny fact: from time to time, I ve got people telling me when I wear a tartan garment ” tartan is very fashionable this year!”. But they probably didn t know that : first, fashion is not ruling my tastes; and that then: TARTAN IS HYPE FOR MORE THAN 25 YEARS FOR ME!

 

 

 

One thought on “TARTAN, MY LOVE!

Leave a comment